Mmm, tasty yarn

I attended my second yarn tasting at Article Pract. Last month selection featured yarns from Be Sweet including the Magic Ball. (I whipped up a Magic Ball into a little hat though it did not come anywhere near the length suggested by the pattern.)

This month we tasted eight (nine?) yarns from Classic Elite Yarns that came in a small burlap-ish bag with a tape measure (you can never have too many of those!). I decided to copy Christina and a few other women at the tasting by making a lap blanket of my tastings.

Classic Tasting

Okay, I cast on too few stitches but there's no reason why it can't be log cabin-ish in its final construction. The tastings included Inca Alpaca which is loverly to run your hands through and Twinkle Soft Chunky which one of the reps had whipped into the Aspen Hat from Big City Knits. Yes, you can get a button that's been dyed to match the yarn. Whoa.

I have to go back to Article Pract and peruse the CEY but today I picked up four skeins of Misti Alpaca Worsted Weight 4-ply in a beautiful blue-green colorway that's not on the website. I decided a while ago that I wanted to knit up a clapotis and since the short-row hat I've been working on needs frogging (again) I thought now was a good time to do it.

Mmm, tasty yarn

Leave a Reply

