You don’t have to stand by your man

When I saw the pictures of Eliot Spitzer's wife standing beside him, looking aggrieved but present, I sneered. Though I have absolutely no expectation to be in a similar situation, I turned to Mister and said, "You'd be on your own, buddy." Maybe we'd work out our relationship, maybe not, but I certainly wouldn't be in a photo suggesting that I supported his infidelity.

Apparently I'm not the only person who feels this way. Debra Saunders called Spitzer's wife, Silda, "the emporer's wife."

I am one of those people who believes affairs belong to the couple, not the public. If Spitzer used public funds to pay for his soirées, that's a misuse of funds, but his inability to keep his Johnson in the family is a family issue. Perhaps that is why I find the presence of the wife egregious. Does his political life, and therefore the family's, have more importance than her own? It must because here is the double blow: cheating and public humiliation.

You don’t have to stand by your man

Leave a Reply

