Maybe I Should Have Napped

You ever get an idea in your head and can't rest until it's settled? I'm like that with food. Sometimes it is easy to manage. I'd like cheese. I have a slice of cheese. 

This month I've been on a scone kick. Really, it's a baking kick that has been scone-centric, but it's because I have had a blueberry thing going. (This, despite blueberries not being in season for California therefore coming from Chile, far out of my "food range." I buy them anyway.) I made the lovely blueberry scones from my current go-to cookbook, Breakfast, Lunch, Tea: The Many Little Meals of Rose Bakery. We had blueberries that went bad, so halfway through the set-up, I switched to the maple scones even though I thought the recipe came out a little dry.
Um. Here's where we hit class 3 trouble.
I had the flours ready for the maple scones, the lemon rind ready for the blueberry scones, the egg and milk ready for the blueberry scones and missing ingredients. Mister picked up maple syrup and blueberries. Wow! I can make both.
I turn on Wait, Wait Don't Tell Me and get cracking. I whip up the maple scones while listening to the March 21 show with Joe Nocera, economics writer for the New York Times. He's dry, and so are my scones. What happened? Gah! The recipe calls for 3/4 cup of butter, which I know! But I only put in half a cup. And, in tasting them — they are flavorful though dusty — I realize that the first time I made them I only put in half a cup of butter. Argh. I've annotated the recipe twice since her "these are so buttery you don't need butter" note isn't enough for me.
On to the blueberry scones. We are running low on flour, which is unusual for us but I have not done a full shop in several weeks since we started the veggie CSA. Mister or I pick up a few ingredients here and there to fill out a dinner, but nothing major. Consequently, we are low or out of: olive oil, flour (to be clear, we have about 15 kinds of flour, but I'll get to that), chicken stock (rectified by my making stock last night), butter (intermittently), and laundry detergent. 
I pull out Food FAQs: Substitutions, Yields & Equivalents
, my food substitution book (The Food Substitutions Bible: More than 5,000 Substitutions for Ingredients, Equipment and Techniques
is similar) to look for a suitable replacement for the missing flour. Corn meal! I transform the beautiful cylindrical scones into lumps of love.IMG_2128
The change worked out alright. I might add a touch more sugar to sweeten up the corn meal next time. No need to pay $2.65 for a scone from the bakery at Markethall when I can whip up my own corn meal-blueberry scone at home.
Still, two sets of scones, both a little wonky? Edible, kind of good, but not what I expected. Maybe I should have taken that much needed nap, instead. 
Maybe I Should Have Napped

Leave a Reply

