Peas, shoots, and leaves

English peas popped up at the farmer’s market on Saturday. I couldn’t resist them nor the fava beans. I also had to take a picture and send it to my pea-crazy mother. She buys a bunch whenever she and my step-father come down off the mountain.
Shelling peas is peaceful, satisfying business. Shelling fava beans is not. I wonder, every time, if there is a more efficient and less annoying method available.
Persevere did I. Into some olive oil went slivers of green garlic followed by the peas and favas and a little butter. Delish! Bright and sweet with a dash of zing.
Still, I can’t help but think favas are best left to the professionals.Peas, shoots, and leaves

Peas, shoots, and leaves

3 thoughts on “Peas, shoots, and leaves

  1. Katy says:

    I made the ones at the farmers market by just dropping them in boiling water for a minute, all the skins sort of puffed up and cracked so you just had to squish them out

    Like

Leave a Reply

