Big Pancake: Vehicle for Butter



I think I've posted about the big pancake, otherwise known as a Dutch baby, one of my current obsessions. This particular recipe calls for a crapload of butter (1/4 cup or half a stick) that should be divided between two pans. Okay, so I forgot to do that part and poured the whole thing into one pan.
Too much butter. Mister couldn't eat it for fear of his arteries closing in. Me, I don't have that problem.

Can you see that pool of butter, glistening in the afternoon light? Look at the pancake, nine o'clock slot.

Big Pancake: Vehicle for Butter

3 thoughts on “Big Pancake: Vehicle for Butter

  1. Katy says:

    I made these from a recipe a while back, it didn’t have that much butter but it was reeeeally good. I’ll see if I can find it

    Like

  2. No worries. I’m just not going to use all that butter if I’m only using the one 10-inch skillet. There are variations of this recipe all over the place. This one actually says to let the batter stand 30 minutes before cooking. I’ve done that once.

    Like

Leave a Reply

