What’s That You’re Reading, Lady?

I put solitaire on my iPhone. Big mistake. My reading time has been dramatically impacted, with almost no books completed since mid-December. I want to say that no, I really have finished a book in the last two months, but I'm not sure I'd be telling the truth.

I'm a reader. Really, I am. It would be difficult to be an English teacher and not enjoy, or live for, reading. I read constantly when Bama was first born, a lot on the iPhone because I could read books while nursing her in the middle of the night.

Then I decided solitaire made sense.

Oh goodness.

Yesterday, I updated my book lists and discovered the last completed book I'd listed here was … what was it? Damn.

So, I am reading people, I am. I am reading all the books listed in the sidebar, albeit slowly.




I'm trying to read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies but am having difficulty as I recently watched the lengthier television version (with Colin Firth as the frosty and then unfrosty Mr. Darcy). The dialogue echoes unpleasantly between the versions making it a shelved text (for now).

Also tried to read Sarah Chayes's The Punishment of Virtue: Inside Afghanistan After the Taliban but yesterday returned it to the library a month overdue and only one hundred pages in. Yes, Chayes is knowledgeable, but something about her writing didn't work for me. I'm going to try it again in a few months, after I pay off my fine.

What’s That You’re Reading, Lady?

Leave a Reply

