Another Use for All Those Bananas

Don't get me wrong, I love banana bread. Maybe I like banana bread, a lot. And, now that I have a recipe (from Molly Wizenberg's A Homemade Life: Stories and Recipes from My Kitchen Table ) that I've tweaked on the flour end, it's my go-to.

But I like muffins and I like variety. Enter the banana cereal muffin from Good to the Grain: Baking with Whole-Grain Flours. It took only minutes to set up, made easier by having leftover breakfast cereal (the multigrain blend from Whole Foods bins) on hand. They were moist, needed a little more banana kick, and had a nice texture. 

image from www.flickr.com

 

I haven't baked much else from the book, a few things, and I like it. Do not be fooled. She uses AP flour in almost all of the recipes, she says for consistency, but lots of substitutions and a decent selection of recipes per flour type. I love that she includes rye, quinoa, and amaranth flour. I have become a barley fan after using her scone recipe. It's incredibly easy, and the barley flour gives the scones a nice creamy texture. 

Another Use for All Those Bananas

Leave a Reply

