Times Square is Weird.

When anyone we know comes to New York, and especially if they've never been here before, Mister and I suggest they go to Times Square and the Empire State Building their first night. The Empire State is still one of my favorite spots, I don't care how cliche it is. But Times Square.

It's odd. Weird. Who likes it, I mean really likes it and wants to be there?

We never go to Times Square. Skirt around its edges sometimes as we're heading through Midtown, but go to Times Square? No, thanks.

Imagine my surprise, really, imagine it, when I was walking home from knitting on the UWS, chatting on the phone, when the streets got brighter. Lights? What, ho?

 

image from www.flickr.com

Oh, right. I'd forgotten how bright Times Square is on an otherwise very, very dark night.

What are all these people doing? I wondered.

image from www.flickr.com

Nothing. Hanging out. On this totally weird stage that's a permanent fixture in Times Square. Ultimately, I guess it is handy, but stadium seating to watch people wander around with shopping bags and cameras?

Weird.

image from www.flickr.com

Despite my snarkiness, I stand by my recommedation. If you come to NYC, go to Times Square at night. See it lit up in its movie-star way. Keep a hand on your purse. But go. 

Times Square is Weird.

Leave a Reply

