Finished Objects

Before you think, wow, look at all those things she's knit! Let me pull the wool from your eyes. Most people post finished items and so it can seem like we spend all our time knitting and have some magic knitting stone that makes us knit quickly. Maybe those exist, but I don't own any. Some projects take a night, like Rabbit's cowl posted below. Others get done in bursts, like his sweater. My own sweater, which I've yet to photograph, took about a year, but 11 months of that year was waiting for the second sleeve. 

Here's what's going on: Mister's socks are hibernating (size one needles), I'm one half of an arm warmer done for Grandmother (thank you, The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings for freeing up blocks of knitting time). I've started mittens for Bama (purple yarn, delicious, knitting on big ole 10.5 needles so they should be done by the weekend). 

Rabbit's birthday sweater. I started it in September? I bought the yarn two years ago at a shop in Norwich, VT while visiting BaMa and co. I'd planned to knit a sweater for Bama, but stashed the yarn away, changed my mind about the pattern, then settled on Carrie Bostick Hoge's Odette Hoodie  (in Manos del Uruguay Wool Clasica in Lime). The buttons are 3/4 inch walnut from Anthony's Woodshop on Etsy.

IMG_3342
IMG_3342

See that cute hood? It's so cute, but the directions are not cute so write it out to make sure you understand the decreases because her instructions, otherwise fine, take a few readings to sort out.

IMG_3342
It's impossible not to love his big boy/little boy jeans.

Here is his birthday cowl. I have time and yarn to make him a hat to go with it. My pattern, such as it is. Cast on 58, join to 57, knit one row, K2, P1 to about five inches (4-6 inches depending on your kid's neck), knit, cast off.

IMG_3352
IMG_3352

Bama's winter cowl. It's a miniature of the Gap-tastic cowl, a very popular gap-inspired cowl (infinity scarf) in seed stitch. I cast on 115 stitches and knit to 4.5 inches (one skein of Nashua super chunky which is no longer available). I'd probably cast on to 120 or 105 next time and knit to 6-8 inches to beef it up, but she likes it. She really likes that it's pink. PINK. 

 

IMG_3326
IMG_3326
IMG_3326

 

Finished Objects

2 thoughts on “Finished Objects

  1. I love that you showcased your Odette out before Soulemama. Just goes to show how on top of it you are!
    Hope your holidays were great fun and that you are building new traditions for your family each year.

    Like

  2. LOL, thank you. It was done before Christmas but I was holding on to it. The yarn, people don’t use manos del uruguay enough. So great.
    Me, one fav on Rav. soulemama, 59 as of noon. I feel inadequate. 😉
    Seriously, I’d like him to wear it every day. I complain about the hood directions, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be knitting ga couple more.
    Our holidays were lovely as I hope (and am pretty sure given the posts) yours were. I love your advent calendar. I thought I had mine worked out to make this year, but then I saw yours. They’d dig it. I’m not sure if tis’ the design or that the old peeps made it that is the best part. Probably the latter.
    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

