Christmas (Just Passed)

Dear Mom,

We had a lovely Christmas this year even without the snow. We woke up not too early to giggles and excitement. I asked Juniper to turn the tree lights on (her job).

J: I have to move my bike out of the way.

Us: (That's it?!)

Santa had a devil of a time finding a bike for this girl. She wanted green, but no one makes a green bike for kids anymore, they are blue for boys and pink for girls. We could have gotten her a pink bike with a basket and baby carrier, you know, because she's the girl and that's what all girls want (and their mamas and papas must want, too). 

IMG_3261

Santa found this awesome blue-ish bike with silver (and she says pink). I added the sparkly tassles for fun. It didn't have training wheels, but we put them on to help her get around. I think she's a little nervous about the bike now, she's had a few good tumbles on it. She'll get better, I'm sure.

IMG_3261

Mister found this incredible hobbie horse on Etsy. I thought Carver might like it. Carver LOVES it. It's been on a lot of trips already and it eats a lot of apples.

IMG_3261

Elmo went to Tatooine and merged with a pink zebra.

IMG_3261

After breakfast and a lot of sweeping and train-building and reading, we went to the park to try out all the new wheels. Juniper on her bike (before we put the training wheels back on. I don't know that they help. I think they make things worse, but it's hard to know for sure at this point.)

IMG_3261

I know, what's he doing, right? He can scooter around the apartment now. I use that term loosely. He goes a couple of inches and hops off. Everyone needs practice. If it was a little warmer, it might be easier. Falling when your hands are cold is no good.

IMG_3261

Juniper creating a chain with her lucet (another Etsy purchase). She's very nearly got the hang of it. 

We had our biggest tree yet! Our first year, I was too pregnant to handle a huge tree (it was a decent size). Last year, I think we had a little one because we had less room. This year, Mister busted out the big tree AND we picked it up early in December as opposed to our usual last minute tree panic rush to the lot. 

IMG_3261

So, our tree. I think it is funny. Maybe because I'm missing my boxes of ornaments collected over the years (but in storage). Everyone but me loved it. I loved the tree but it needed more color! I loved its smell. The east coast trees are different, no silver tips, and lots of whatever this one is that I've already forgotten. Trees from Canada are very popular. I don't think I was so aware of the tree change last year.

IMG_3261

We added our annual new ornaments, a mix of made and one bought including this jolly Santa that Juniper and Carver selected while we were out shopping. I'm hopeful that the box of ornaments Mister and I thought we packed when we moved we did not, in fact, pack and move because they'd be safe in California. If we packed them, they are lost and I'll be sad.

IMG_3261

Juniper made a felt Christmas tree similar to one that either Mister or I made when we were little. I think it was Mister's but we aren't sure. 

IMG_3261

Our first year, Juniper and I made salt dough ornaments. Carver destroyed several by tossing them from the counter, but this little guy survived the other little guy's quick Godzilla moves. Juniper's amazing hand (traced, cut out, painted) did not make it. 

IMG_3261

A bit of the pom pom. An idea from purlsoho that added some color.

IMG_3261

Perhaps our most popular ornament, the nutcracker. 

IMG_3261

Our hippie witchy angel Celtic lady from Vermont. 

IMG_3261

One of mine, made last year in a post-Christmas ornament making session with @sarahm (this year we did the pom poms). The glitter lightbulbs are beautiful. If you make them, use a gluegun to affix the hanging string, dusty glitter is great, and let everything dry like mad.

I wish you'd been here to celebrate, but you were just here, weren't you? And now Nana's in town, so grandparents to bookend the holiday. The smalls were joyous and grateful for what their gifts. Juniper was especially excited to give Mister and me presents that she and Carver had selected.

Alright, the holiday tour is at an end.

 

Love you,

me 

Christmas (Just Passed)

Leave a Reply

